Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Daily assessments

Evaluation and Assessment

Daily assessments

Author Post
Larissa Colon Larissa Colon 5665 Points

I am a preservice teacher studying to be an elementary school teacher and also receive a middle school science certification. Some of the hours I have spent in the classroom have been with an 8th grade science teacher. She was a great mentor for me and gave me so many wonderful ideas I can use in my future classroom. One way she kept track of her students’ learning was by having a graded rubric for each class session. Simple things such as participation, asking questions, and answering questions was written down for every single student, every single day. While I did find that it worked for her and told her the level of understanding a student had of that day’s lesson, I had some trouble with her system. I found it difficult to remember the actions of every single students especially since there were about 60 or more students, she had in one day. My question is what are other teachers doing in their classrooms to assess daily learning? I’m just curious to see what methods are being used besides what I have already learned in my courses and experienced in classrooms. Any ideas and advice are welcomed. 

Chasity White Chasity White 340 Points

Hi, Larissa!  That sounds like a wonderful method she was using to gauge her students.  However, I would have difficulty with maintaining that system as well.  I teach 7th grade science, and I have over 170 students.  I like to use Brainpop quizes and exit slips that I create online in order to gather data on my students.  The digital compilation of data makes it so much easier for me to check quickly for understanding.  I use polleverywhere.com, google docs, and kahoot to create exit slip type activities that check for understanding at the end of the class period.  I can review over the data and revisit appropriate concepts the next day.