Forums

Forums / STEM / New Teacher and STEM

STEM

New Teacher and STEM

Author Post
Christopher Ernstes Christopher Ernstes 120 Points

Hi all!

I am a future teacher who is very interested in STEM education and I want to find fun ways to incorporate it into my classrooms down the road. Does anyone have any advice on how to incorporate it into the classroom? Are you wishing that you had more time to teach it, especially for younger students?

Do you have any favorite resources you use?

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

Chris

Pamela Dupre Pam Dupre 92369 Points

Hi Christopher. I like your thinking. I use the Explore All Resources tab often when planning a lesson that I want to incorporate STEM into. I use ngss.nsta.org for classroom resources. You should check it out, just know that there are a lot of great resources there. I was lucky enough about 3 years ago to get a set of the Picture Perfect Science Books which gave me a format and ideas of ways to incorporate more STEM in my lessons. I highly recommend following NSTA on Twitter and you will find other like minded teachers to follow through that media. Search for STEM teachers on FB and other social media platforms. Most teachers are willing to share!

Lara Stubbs Lara Stubbs 250 Points

If you would like to learn about implement STEM best practices into your classroom, there is a federally-funded STEM teacher professional development program for educators in the US, provided by the Missile Defense Agency.