Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Rock Cycle Question

Earth and Space Science

Rock Cycle Question

Author Post
Karen Carlough Karen Carlough 875 Points

I was approached by a colleague regarding the rock cycle. I since I have check the internet, google like a typical student and found conflicting diagrams and information. I know that all rocks can become sedimentary, igneous and sedimentary can become metamorphic. Here where the disagreement comes in that sedimentary does or does not become igneous. If a dike comes through sedimentary rock layers would then turn to metamorphic, marble, quartzite, slate etc. If the sedimentary rock melts into the magma - how do you know? Although my major is ES, I haven't taught this particular topic yet. thnx

Kendra Young Kendra Young 17180 Points

It's been my experience that more "elementary" rock cycle diagrams do not reveal how sedimentary rocks could become igneous rocks. They are much more "cyclic" and show that igneous rocks become sediment, sediment becomes sedimentary rocks, heat and pressure is applied until "voila" a metamorphic rock is born. Just like everything else in real life, it's just not that simple. The rock cycle more closely resembles a web and yes, sedimentary rocks can become igneous rocks. Volcanic activity (such as intrusions/extrusions) are one way, as are subduction zones at plate boundaries. More "advanced" rock cycle diagrams, especially those used at the college level, almost always acknowledge this. Hope that helps! Kendra

Karen Carlough Karen Carlough 875 Points