Forums

Forums / Distance Learning / Online Learning

Distance Learning

Online Learning

Author Post
Giselle Torres Giselle Torres 425 Points

How do you manage to feel engaged and stay focused in class now with online learning? I try to engage and ask questions, but it just does not feel the same doing it over zoom, than in person. 

Janelle Falcon Janelle Falcon 500 Points

Hello Giselle, I’m a university student from Texas and all of my classes are now done via online. Honestly in my opinion I prefer online learning just because it’s easier for me to revolve my work schedule around it and I can do it from the comfort of my home. It is definitely not the same as in person learning but it’s all about time management and being able to self-pace. If you are able to get schedules of assignments and dates ahead of time and pace yourself week by week with your work and how much work you know you’ll be willing to handle each week, I promise it will be a lot easier. In a zoom session though, I recommend just to eliminate anything you know will distract you, like food or your phone, just so you can focus on the teacher better. You can also try actively participating in the zoom session, to break the ice, and have the teacher and other students engaged in conversation as well. I hope this helps.

Brittney Lopez Brittney Lopez 570 Points

Hello Giselle! I agree with you, doing classess over zoom feels very different. I am not so engaged or motivated but things that help me are to stay prepared and focused. I print all my documents, keep track of the calander, and I also leave my camera on. When I have my camera off, it is easier for me to do whatever I want. Leaving my camera on allows me to make sure I remain seated and have my full attention towards the teacher. The teacher is able to see that I am paying attention and it helps me stay focused. 

Ashley Esquivel Ashley Esquivel 390 Points