Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Earth Systems - Weather and Seasons Lesson

Earth and Space Science

Earth Systems - Weather and Seasons Lesson

Author Post
Kyli Bumbray Kyli Bumbray 1708 Points

Hello everyone!

I am a future teacher and want to create a 10 day lesson plan for 3rd graders about weather and seasons. I would like the lessons to be fun and interactive. If anyone has any ideas or suggestions please let me know!

Well I think something fun for the seasons could be going over what they experience when these different seasons arive or change from one to the next. You could even (since it is fall) bring in different items that this season brings. It could range anywhere from fallen leaves to what kind of fruits and veggies are in season. Also, associating certain types of weather with certain seasons could be fun. Like it doesn't snow in the summer time, this will definitely spark a question as to why that is and that's when you can delve more into wether patterns and why the seasons change etc. This kind of unit does tie in to how Earth works and space which could broaden or even be a segue into a new unit. They don't usually start learning about Earth systems like that until 4th so maybe try to tie in magnetic forces. I hope this helps even a little bit! Us future teachers got this!

Camillia Ledbetter Camillia Ledbetter 960 Points

Kylie,

With the teaching the seasons, you could build upon that initial interest from the items associated with each season with a demonstration of how the seasons occur. You could have a globe in the middle of the room and use a flashlight to represent the sun. Move the globe around the room showing the relationship between the tilt, position during the revolution and the seasons.