Forums

Forums / Life Science / Teaching about animal care

Life Science

Teaching about animal care

Author Post
Iris Par Iris Par 4015 Points

Hi i am a student in saint peters university studying to become a teacher. As a student, I have had one class pet. I know it is a affective way to teach students about animal care. However, will this work in a classroom now. There has to be a lot of considerations about it but it could help students know about what animals needs and what they do. Also what other kind of activity can help students know about animal care. 

Viviana Salinas Viviana Salinas 105 Points

I belive having a class pet does help in the studying of animals, but there are circumstances that you have to take in order to have a class pet. For example the students allergies, the size of the animal, the enviorment it can live in etc. A class pet can help the students learn different ways of an animal growing or the responsability it takes to take care of an animal. 

Question: Would having a reptile as a class pet a good idea? 

Marlee Boyle Marlee Boyle 1525 Points

Hello Iris! My name is Marlee Boyle. I am a preservice teacher from Wartburg College. A great idea is to have someone come in from a college or go visit a college campus where there is a science classroom with several animals. For example, I am taking a course where in the classroom, there are animals in every inch of the room. There are also tons of other animals across the building. If a guest from a college or university were to come into the classroom, you could have them share facts and stories about each animal. They could also strictly talk about proper animal care and potentially bring in animals if your class is comfortable. I hope this idea helps!

Marlee Boyle Wartburg College

Lauren Apodaca Lauren Apodaca 345 Points

I have pets in my classroom and I allow students to track humidity and temperature in the tanks.

Anne Lowry Anne Lowry 8543 Points