Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Advice for new teachers

Elementary Science

Advice for new teachers

Author Post
Jennifer Marmion Jennifer Marmion 1920 Points

I am currently in college, studying to be an elementary school teacher. I was just wondering what kind of advice those of you who are experienced would give to someone just starting out? For example, one thing that you wish someone had told you before your very first day? Thank you!

Sandra Lundy Sandra Lundy 1605 Points

I am just starting out also, and I am just as nervous! I will give you some advice that I have been given these past few months. - Keep everything (lessons, conferences, etc.). Even though it might not work for one class, it might for another the next year. - Create a sense of community in your classroom. Have jobs for them, do things together, hold them accountable, etc. - Never take work home. You will never separate the two if you merge the two. Stay late if needed but never take it home. - Stay connected with parents/guardians. Always keep in contact with what is going on with their child (even for the good). - There are never BAD children. There are just children that need help with the way they regulate anger and redirection. - Look for signs of disabilities but do not diagnose children. Use your information to best differentiate the instruction. There is probably more advice that I have been given but this is what comes to mind right now. I hope you have a good year!

Manelle El-Negery Manelle El-Negery 1095 Points

I am also currently in college to become a teacher. A lot of advice on here has been very helpful even in my student teaching. What i have learned from my supervisor is to most importantly always over plan and also ask all questions you may have (don't feel scared).

Diana Maiorca Diana Maiorca 1240 Points