Web Seminar

Related artJoin us on Wednesday, July 13, 2022, from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM ET, to learn about the NIH-sponsored lesson plans and storyline units titled: Genome: Unlocking Life’s Code.

Genome: Unlocking Life’s Code provides free lesson plans and storyline units to help guide high school students as they explore various genetics and genomics concepts. Units will culminate in community-focused projects. This program is Session 2 of a two-part seminar series.  Register for Session 1.

Storylines start with an anchoring phenomenon that introduces a question or problem. Each step in a storyline unit is then driven by students’ questions that arise from the phenomenon. In this case, the anchoring phenomenon is something familiar yet still mysterious to this generation of students - bans of certain foods in their cafeterias and classrooms. Students will probably be able to connect the bans to food allergies but might not be able to explain why a person has food allergies.

Session 2 of this series will address the second half of the unit and the community-focused project students complete. Participants will be given an overview of the Genome DIY Exhibit resources that can be used by students to present their findings about food allergies to an audience of their choice.

All individuals receive a certificate of participation and 100 NSTA activity points for attending the live seminar and completing the end-of-program survey. A certificate of participation is not awarded for watching the recorded version of the program.

We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars at NSTA.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Wednesday July 13, 2022 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 120 Minutes Audience High School Biology educators of science.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events