Space Center Houston Virtual Event  - December 2020
 

Web Seminar

Free Offering   |   Zoom Online Meeting

 

To register, Log in or become a free member

Join us on Thursday, February 11, 2021, from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET to learn about the biggest explosions in the universe.

The biggest explosions in the universe dwarf any we are capable of on Earth.  In space, we can witness an exploding star that can shine brighter than the rest of a galaxy, or a black hole ripping apart a star that's visible from billions of light years away.  But how do we observe these cosmic explosions from Earth and learn about them? 

In this web seminar, Dr. Yvette Cendes will discuss how humanity has witnessed the biggest explosions in the universe, from Chinese records thousands of years ago to my modern-day observations as a radio astronomer.  She will also discuss how these explosions tie into our understanding of the life and death of stars, and how they are responsible for life on Earth existing today.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Thursday February 11, 2021 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education., specially teachers of science in grades K-16.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events