Vernier Science Education - Webinar page - March2024
 

Web Seminar

Join us on Thursday, October 10, 2024, from 7:00 to 8:00 PM ET, for a Science Update web seminar presented by NOAA about climate science and marine sanctuaries.

Climate change presents a distinct challenge for ocean and coastal place-based managers. The complexity of marine ecosystems, coupled with the difficulty of both direct observations and swift management interventions in the ocean, necessitates a purposeful, science-based planning approach to inform successful adaptive management.

This presentation will describe the science-based climate vulnerability assessment process, and its implementation in adaptive management, developed and implemented by NOAA’s Office of National Marine Sanctuaries over a decade of climate assessment and adaptive management. By leveraging the diversity of ecosystems, geographies, cultures, and experiences represented by the National Marine Sanctuary System, this science-based framework leverages the best available science, expert knowledge, and leading climate adaptation theory to provide marine and coastal place-based managers with a strong scientific foundation to advance climate-informed adaptive management.

All individuals receive a certificate of participation and 100 NSTA activity points for attending the live seminar and completing the end-of-program survey. A certificate of participation is not awarded for watching the recorded version of the program.

We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars at NSTA.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: [email protected]

Hosted by

National Science Teaching Association

Presenters

Details

Date Thursday October 10, 2024 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education., specially teachers of science, parents, and science enthusiasts.

Sponsored by

Vernier Science Education

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events