Vernier Science Education - Webinar page - March2024
 

Web Seminar

Free Offering   |   Zoom Online Meeting

 

To register, Log in or Create a Free Account

Join us on Thursday, June 13, 2024, from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM ET, to learn about the science and technology of firefighting.

Wildfires have become an emerging issue of natural disasters in the U.S. For example, the 2023 Hawaii Maui Island Wildfire claimed more than 100 lives and destroyed almost all buildings on the island. Recent wildfires in Texas also burned hundreds of homes, killed thousands of livestock, and destroyed crops, grasslands, and ranching infrastructure due to the massive smoke and extreme heat.

This presentation will discuss the science of how wildfires originate and spread, plus strategies to protect your home and family from these natural disasters. The presenter will also incorporate his research on using technology to fight against wildfires and possible ways to incorporate Artificial Intelligence (AI), drones, and remote sensors to protect the lives of first responders and citizens.

All individuals receive a certificate of participation and 100 NSTA activity points for attending the live seminar and completing the end-of-program survey. A certificate of participation is not awarded for watching the recorded version of the program.

We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars at NSTA.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: [email protected]

Hosted by

National Science Teaching Association

Presenters

Details

Date Thursday June 13, 2024 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 60 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education., specially teachers of science, parents, and science enthusiasts.

Sponsored by

Vernier Science Education

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events