Member Web Seminar

Join us on Wednesday, March 24, 2021, from 7:00 PM to 8:30 PM ET for another edition of the Transforming Science Learning series.

The COVID-19 pandemic offers an unprecedented context to explore and engage all students in societally relevant problems. The presentation proposes an instructional framework for STEM education, by foregrounding justice and capitalizing on new advances in STEM disciplines, that can support justice-centered decision-making and solutions to societally pressing phenomena and challenges.

Specifically, the instructional framework leverages data science, computer science, and multidisciplinary convergence of STEM disciplines, which have become key to finding solutions to the pandemic. By harnessing the affordances of new advances in STEM disciplines to surface the systemic racism endemic in our society and structural systems, the instructional framework presents one approach to creating “a new normal” for STEM education that centers social justice. During the presentation, we will walk the participants through navigating data sources and share our science lesson as an example of our instructional framework.

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: webseminars@nsta.org

Presenters

Details

Date Wednesday March 24, 2021 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 90 Minutes Audience All individuals interested in science and science education., specially teachers of science in grades K-16.

Sponsors

National Science Teaching Association

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events