Vernier Science Education - Webinar page - March2024
 

Web Seminar

Secondary Pre-service Teachers! Join us on Monday, October 21, 2024, from 7:00 to 8:15 PM ET to learn about safety considerations for the science laboratory.  

This interactive web seminar will begin with an overview of safety protocols specific for doing secondary-level safer science/STEM laboratory activities. The presenters will be Dr. Ken Roy, NSTA and NSELA Safety Compliance Advisor/Specialist and Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Glastonbury (CT) Public Schools, and NSTA Safety Advisory Board Chairperson Dr. Kevin Doyle of Morris Hills Regional School District in Rockaway, New Jersey.

Critical related topics for science/STEM preservice secondary teachers to be addressed include legal safety standards and better professional practices, engineering controls, standard operating procedures, personal protective equipment, and duty of care. If time permits, the presenters will answer individual questions near the end of the program.

Early career secondary school teachers looking for a review on safety considerations are also invited to attend.

All individuals receive a certificate of participation and 100 NSTA activity points for attending the live seminar and completing the end-of-program survey. A certificate of participation is not awarded for watching the recorded version of the program. 

This web seminar is hosted for and by the National Chapter for Preservice Teachers at NSTA. We invite you to register for upcoming web seminars - invite your colleagues too!

Register today to participate in this web seminar. Upon registering you will receive an e-mail confirmation including information about the program and suggested links to visit in preparation of the event. Additional information about the web seminar will be e-mailed to you days before the program.

New Users: Log in 15 minutes prior to the start time for an introduction to NSTA web seminars.

Each web seminar is a unique, stand-alone, program. Archives of the web seminars and the presenters' PowerPoint presentations will be available through the links on this web page. Read answers to frequently asked questions from participants.

For more information contact: [email protected]

Hosted by

National Science Teaching Association

Presenters

Details

Date Monday October 21, 2024 Time 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT Duration 75 Minutes Audience All secondary preservice teachers and early career teachers of science interested in learning more about safety considerations for the secondary classroom.

Sponsored by

Vernier Science Education

NSTA conferences offer the latest in science content, teaching strategy, and research to enhance and expand your professional growth. Take advantage of this unique opportunity to collaborate with science education leaders and your peers.

All Events