Forums

Forums / New Teachers / How I would like my students to remember me

New Teachers

How I would like my students to remember me

Author Post
Shayla Ybarra Shayla Ybarra 300 Points

As I am on my way to becoming a new Elementary teacher it is of the utmost importance that I make a world of difference in my students lives.  I would like any imput anyone may have to give me so that my students can remember me in their everyday lifes as they proceed to other grade levels.  I have always wanted to become a teacher who makes her students happy learners and give them the experiece that learning is essential to their future. 

Celeste Martinez Celeste Martinez 950 Points

Hi Shayla! Congratulations on starting your journey into becoming a new teacher! Teaching elementary is an amazing experience and you sound like you have a great heart for it! I'm in my fourth year of teaching kindergarten and I asked myself the same question my first year of teaching. The point is not to set out and focus on being the best teacher, but to be the best version of yourself for the kids in need. If you go in and be yourself, the kids will know your motives are genuine and they'll naturally gravitate towards you. Not every style of teaching works for every teacher, so find what works for you and be true to who you are. I was scared that my students would forget me as they went on in their elementary years, but I was shocked to be the one teacher who had kids running up to me hugging me even years after I taught them. Even students who were not from my classroom, somehow I reached them simply by being myself.  If your heart is in the right place, your kids will know. Focus on putting procedures in place to manage the kids, find out what works for you and your students, then let the joy of teaching take over and you will find that you'll make a difference in the ones that need it the most.

Elizabeth Inselmann Elizabeth Inselmann 1395 Points

Hi Shayla,