Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / ESL Students & Science

Early Childhood

ESL Students & Science

Author Post
Katherine Hinson Katherine Hinson 235 Points

Hello! I am a preservice teacher at the University of Arkansas, and I am going to be teaching a science lesson to an ESL-heavy class of 1st graders this semester. Do you have any tips or lessons suggestions for this class? Thank you!

Lauren Wolbers Lauren Wolbers 1920 Points

Hello Katherine,
I am also a preservice teacher at the University of Northern Iowa. My minor is teaching English to speakers of other languages, so I have been looking into how to best teach science to my future ELL students. There are a few small things you can do like talk slower, repeat, use visuals, word walls, step by step directions, or rephrasing. Some more in-depth concepts you could try is frequently summarizing what you just went over or using different learning styles throughout the lesson. There are so many ways to help ELL students in the classroom. Some ways may work better than others. One thing to keep in mind is that an ESL student may be very competent in every day conversation. That does not mean that their academic language is on the same level. ESL students pick up quicker on their conversation language than their academic language. It is often hard to remember that the student still is struggling with their English proficiency when they can make a conversation with the teacher fluently.

Lisa Shimabukuro Lisa Shimabukuro 455 Points

Hi, Katherine!