Forums

Forums / STEM / Student developed rubrics

STEM

Student developed rubrics

Author Post
Randall Shinn Randall Shinn 510 Points

Aloha Everyone, I am planning on having my student develop a rubric using GLO 2: Community Contributor and have questions before I have my students be involved in this process. One of the problems that I am foreseeing is that I have multiple periods and if I have each period come up with a rubric, does this mean that I have to have 4 different rubrics for my classes? Yikes! Any suggestion on how I could find a way to tie it into one rubric would be great. As you can see, I have limited knowledge or experience when it comes to student developing rubrics. Thanks, Randy

I forgot to mention that I am having students develop this rubric for my STEM class and that part of their grade will be collaboration. This is the reason for developing the rubric for GLO 2.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Hi Randall,
One suggestion would be to use an internet program like Rubistar with the students. That way each class would have a site where they could share with each other and collaborate to turn their individual/group rubrics into one class rubric. It would make it easier for you, too, to have each class rubric available under their class section, period, or name. You may find the rubrics to be very similar when they are completed. It may not be that difficult to combine them into one more generic one. Perhaps you could provide all your classes with the same levels of achievement or point values. That way they can could spend their time determining the attributes to be assessed.
Another idea is to create a google docs spreadsheet rubric and have each class download it. Allow them to be contributors. Each group could save the template, then use it as the basis to create their group rubric. You were the creator, so you will be able to view and make any changes you deem necessary before it is used.
Carolyn