Forums

Forums / Next Generation Science Standards / Looking for a condensed explanation of NGSS

Next Generation Science Standards

Looking for a condensed explanation of NGSS

Author Post
Nick Kidwell Nick Kidwell 35 Points

New NSTA/Oregon STA member here. I have a question for the professional community. I have 7 years of teaching experience and am currently searching for a teaching position. However, I have not been a classroom teacher since 2012, and it's working against me, especially regarding current standards and best-practices. One feedback item from a principal who interviewed me was that I should familiarize with Next Generation Science Standards. While I am finding a plethora of resources out there, there is a LOT of stuff to sort through.  Can someone break it down for me so that I have a solid starting point?  - Nick 

Flavio Mendez Flavio Mendez 52501 Points

Hi Nick, Please consider taking a look at the virtual conference archives (fee-based resource) at the URL below: http://learningcenter.nsta.org/products/online_courses/VC_170211.aspx They offer a "standards 101" level instruction. Might be a good place to start. Take care, Flavio.

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

Just like Flavio, I use NSTA as my go to for pretty much everything, especially NGSS! There are lessons, trade books, and you can see the progressions of the NGSS from elementary through high school. It is a veritable gold mine! Even if you choose not to use the lesson plans, they provide a road map for you to ensure you are hitting all crosscutting concepts, and engineering practices while being aligned to NGSS and your own state's standards.

Donald Boonstra Donald Boonstra 8585 Points