Forums

Forums / Life Science / External Characteristics

Life Science

External Characteristics

Author Post
Kimberly Alvarez Kimberly Alvarez 315 Points

I am a student teacher from the University of Houston, and I was wondering if I could get some help on how to make my engage (opening to my lesson) more hands on. The TEKS is 1.10.A. investigate how the external characteristics of an animal are related to where it lives, how it moves, and what it eats. I currently had planned to have a discussion with the students about what external characteristics are, then transition into a discussion as to how they affect where animals live, how they move, what they eat. How can I make my engage more hands-on and fun?

Torrey Wenger Torrey Wenger 907 Points

I've got HS biology so I'm guessing my group is older? Have them work in groups to draw the most detailed living organism they can & label all the parts. Circulate around to get ideas & offer hints. (Most kids probably won't draw internal structures without a nudge.) Then either have them discuss their drawings - what's internal vs external & how do those things help their organisms survive - or draw a critter on the board & have them help you list & label the parts. You could follow it up with a visual quiz - pictures of things like noses & skeletons. A project I've done is making a see-thru person using layers of cut-up page protectors & sharpies (but regular paper works too). My kids do different body systems - skeletal, digestive, respiratory, etc - & have a drawing of a person as the "cover". That would reinforce the idea that there's lots more internal. (Drawing muscles just looked liked blobs that filled up the outline I gave them. Fair warning.) Enjoy figuring out what will work best! Yours, Torrey

Destiny Huggins Huggins 10040 Points