Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Teacher vs. Friend

New Teachers

Teacher vs. Friend

Author Post
Alex Storts Alex Storts 468 Points

As I prepare to student teach, I have a concern regarding classroom management. I have been observing in my school for a few months, and the students generally like me. However, I think I am being too friendly sometimes. The school is in an urban setting, and the classes can be pretty crazy sometimes. I tell the students to get back to work, stop talking, etc. However, I have never disciplined anyone--my cooperating teacher does. I am a guest in the classroom and I don't want to overstep my boundaries. Is it too late to become more stern? Any tips appreciated!

Keimys Cardenas Keimys Cardenas 2155 Points

Hello Alex! I have had several opportunities to be part of a classroom during my field experience. This semester howver, was the most time I have ever spent in another classroom. I was lucky enough to have a very experienced teacher who has been in the school system for over 20 years! As she prepares for retirement in the next coming years, it was very refreshing for her to have someone like me who is a fresh teacher. At first i was intimidated as i figured she had been teaching for so long there was absolutely nothing that i could bring to the classroom other than just my assistance. But i was surprised that once we spoke and dicussed different things such as classroom management, she was actually very interested in learning from me just as i was in learning from her! I think you should speak with your cooperating teacher and let them know of your concerns. I think it will be beneficial for both of you! As educators, we alsways need to remain open to new ideals and learning from each other is one of the best possible ways to do so. I hope this was helpful and goodluck!

Kaitlin O'Connor Kaitlin O'Connor 1085 Points

Hi Alex,