Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Homework vs. No homework SBG

New Teachers

Homework vs. No homework SBG

Author Post
Brooke Klostermann Brooke Klostermann 285 Points

I am a preservice teacher learning about standards based grading. I have observed and taught in many classrooms/schools that institute this policy as well. Some schools do not give out homework with standards based grading; whereas, other schools collect homework just on basis of completion. What are some opinions/viewpoints out there about standards based grading in your science classroom? What are some tips for successfully instituting this into a classroom? 

Brooke Klostermann

Wartburg College '19

Taylor Anderson Taylor Anderson 1245 Points

Hi Brooke,

I am a first year teacher in Texas and I have to tell you that things are certainly different in comparision to when I was in school. Homework was provided, expected to be completed, and turned in for a grade however, this is not the case anymore in some schools. Where I am, homework is optional. Teachers are not allowed to take it for a grade due to the fact that the likelihood of it being returned is low. It really varies depending on location.

Since I do not assign nor take grades on homework, I do my best to give mini projects in class where my students are provided a rubric and work in groups. My students grow tired of me talking and enjoy collaborating with their peers more. 

I hope this helps,

Taylor 

Destinye Hudson Destinye Clark 1570 Points

Hi Brooke!