Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Science and Reading

New Teachers

Science and Reading

Author Post
Hannah Lee Hannah Lee 1525 Points

Hello, I am currently a student in the Education program at my University. When I go out to my field placements I have been having trouble engaging students with reading science topics. What are some creative ways I can capture the attentions of young students to read about science?

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

No matter what grade you are teaching you might want to start by reading some science picture books to students. Show them how enthusiastic you are about reading to them about science. Maybe this will capture their interest in reading more about science topics. One of the classic read aloud science book series is The Magic School Bus. It has been around quite awhile, but still holds the interest of children while teaching them a lot of science concepts.

Patrick Mangan Patrick Mangan 110 Points

Science reading in general can be very dry, even for us science people. Maybe if you designed an activity around the reading that required them to focus on it, such as a set of reading comprehension questions, or maybe something a little more fun. You could also try to find a video that could go alongside the reading and help the students make sense of it at the same time. That depends on the reading, though.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Hi Hannah,
As Arlene said, if you let us know what grade level you are interested in, we can provide more appropriate suggestions. For the middle and secondary level students, I love the Everyday Science Mysteries books by Richard Konicek-Moran. You can purchase individual book chapters as well. Here is one I use when I am teaching periodicity and pendulum movement:
Grandfather's Clock
Carolyn

Janine Fernandez Janine Fernandez 1890 Points