Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Gender Biases in Science

Elementary Science

Gender Biases in Science

Author Post
Kerra Harmon Kerra Harmon 190 Points

Hello! I am a preservice teacher in college and often times the topic of boys being more dominant in science than girls comes up in class discussions. When it comes to the classroom and doing experiments/activites, what are some effective strategies to move past the biases and get both girls and boys excitied and motivated to learn science? 

Becca Schouten Becca Schouten 2730 Points

Hello! I am also a preservice teacher in college, and I have also heard many of these stereotypes around science and the gender biases that go along with them. In my class, we have been talking about addressing the students as scientists as a whole. Talking to them about the different scientists that are in the world, both females and males. By showing them the different scientists, you can hopefully lift some of these stereotypes around science. To get both girls and boys excited and motivated to learn science, create very engaging activities for all of the students. Give the students choice so they can choose what they want to learn about/experiment with that day. This will in turn become motivational for all of the students, not just the boys or girls. By creating motivational activities for all students they will in turn learn that science can be fun, and that they will hopefully  become excited to participate in the science lessons!

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points

Hello Kerra-