Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Keeping Students Engaged

Elementary Science

Keeping Students Engaged

Author Post
Laura Garcia Laura Garcia 400 Points

Hi everyone, my name is Laura Garcia and science is one of my favorite subjects. I think its a fun and engaging topic that has many different branches to talk about and activities that could be done. That being said, many students in elementary dont really have a dedicated time for science, especially in the younger grade levels. The younger grade levels are usually always focused on reading and writting and math, but how can I dedicate time to science in an engaging level without disrupting the course of the day? 

Emily Boyd Emily Boyd 1125 Points

Laura, you make a great point. As a third grade teacher, I struggle to devote an adequeate amount of time to science in the instructional day. Our master schedule technically only allows me 30 minutes to get science in. The issue is it falls right after math, so if the math lesson goes over it automatically cuts into the alloted science time. So far, I have planned my science lessons around my math lessons. If it is a lighter math lesson, I plan more for science. By doing this, I can make sure to cover the standards. I plan to integrate some math and science lessons next year since I am more familiar with the math curriculum now. 

Stephanie Garcia Stephanie Garcia 530 Points