Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Advice on how to stay Motivated?

New Teachers

Advice on how to stay Motivated?

Author Post
Felishia Rangel Felishia Rangel 500 Points

Hello, My name is Felishia Rangel. I am a junior at The University Of Texas Rio Grande Valley. I am currently in the Edcuatoin Program. I am a full time student and have a part- time job. Although it feels like I work full-time. Recently I had no motivation to start the school year again. I do work a lot so I get tired and procrastinate on my assignments.  Days when I am not working it is so esay to stay in bed and watch Netfilx. My question is how do you stay motivated? Perhaps I can try your methods. 

Hannah Hoffman Hannah Hoffman 380 Points

Hi Felishia, my name is hannah and I am also a current education major. I too struggle with working part-time and going to school full time. I just want you to know you are so not alone in this feeling I find myself unmotivated and procratinanting. Having thoughts of quiting or doing something else with my life. what I have started doing recently that really helps me is I got my substitute certificate and sub on days i don't have class it is exciting and motivating to be running my own classroom for the day and actually getting to interact with students. Bonus I am making money and getting resources and teaching skills along the way. I also just have to remind myself that some day we will be changing the lifes of young students you could be exaclty what that one kid needs in their situation. Just know that you can make a difference! I hope this helps and I will send good thoughts your way it's so nice to know i am not alone in this feeling! Goodluck you can do it, you have to do it! Your future students need YOU!

Avery Isgett Avery Isgett 240 Points