Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Classroom Management

Early Childhood

Classroom Management

Author Post
Cristal Acevedo Cristal Acevedo 280 Points

How can I control my classroom without having to be to tough with the children? Is there any tips or a website that i can use to get ideas? 

Amanda Dice Amanda Dice 350 Points

Hi there!

I am a student teacher, and over the past few years, I have been able to learn a lot about classroom management. When I am teaching a lesson, I like to pause for a few seconds and scan the room. If I see a student is not paying attention, I will gently remind the whole class to have their eyes on me so I don't single out the student. However, if the student is still not listening after the first reminder, then I will say their name as a gentle reminder. Another way I like to help manage my field placement classroom is through callbacks. A callback is when the teacher will say a phrase, and students will immediately stop and reply back as a group. Another important classroom management strategy is building relationships with your students. When you take time to get to know your students individually, they will start to respect and trust you more. The only thing is, you want to remember that you are their teacher, not their friend! As a teacher, it is important to remember that every student is different, and may require different things. I hope some of my suggestions help you!

Jonna Ward Jonna Ward 1655 Points

Hi Cristal,