Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Cross- Curricular

Elementary Science

Cross- Curricular

Author Post
Ashley Jacobs Ashley Jacobs 80 Points

Hello,

I am a pre-service teacher at Wartburg College and thoughout my different field experiences I have been curious in how to apply science with other subjects. Since science is not a main subject in schools that is focused on for being taught, I am looking for different ways to in cooperate science by crossing it over into other subjects. So, I am looking for different lesson ideas to in cooperate science with math, language arts a, and reading. 

Ashley Jacobs 

Wartburg College 

Elementary Education 

Madeline Chilton Madeline Chilton 2870 Points

Reading and language arts can easily be incorporated into science by having students read text about your science concept and having them write what they learned for summative or formative assessments. Even having them write their data and completing charts/tables with their information. For math, my favorite thing to do is have them create a graph of their data. Depending on the grade level, you can scaffold it to different abilities and have different types of graphs.

Paige Faulkner Paige Faulkner 2545 Points