Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Challenger Mission

Earth and Space Science

Challenger Mission

Author Post
Loren Nomura Loren Nomura 4055 Points

I've heard a lot and had the privilege of seeing students participate in the "Challenger Mission" that they run near Barber's Point Elementary I think. This is mostly for middle schoolers though. For those of you who don't know what the challenger mission is, basically students work together to try and land on the moon (they need to get into orbit and then land safely) through a simulation that seems pretty real. I'm by no means an expert on this, so if anyone else knows more or can add their two cents, I have two questions. 1) What are your thoughts about the Challenger Mission and how do you prepare your students for it? 2) Does anyone know if high schoolers can also participate? It's really hard for me to come up with activities or hands on things to do when learning about space because you can't actually send the students into space or come close to doing the real thing...

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

I have done several of the Challenger missions with my sixth grade students. There is also a comet mission and a Mars mission. As for material leading up to it, once you have enrolled a class, they give you a large notebook with lots of activities leading up to the mission so that your students are prepared to have full interaction with the mission. It is up to the local Challenger Center as to what ages they allow, but I think it would be an excellent experience for high school students. I have seen teachers at a workshop enjoy it as much as the kids and even act like kids!

Shawna Fischer Shawna Fischer 2300 Points