Forums

Forums / Next Generation Science Standards / Unpacking Performance Expectations

Next Generation Science Standards

Unpacking Performance Expectations

Author Post
Kelly Goodpaster Kelly Goodpaster 630 Points

I have been part of a district-wide implementation of PLC training and our task today was to take a 'standard' and break it down into four categories; academic vocabulary, student friendly learning targets, what student proficiency looks like, and student tasks. I was advised to use the Performance Expectation as the standard, but am having a really hard time reformatting it into these 4 categories. Isn't the PE itself what proficiency looks like? Additionally, the PE includes the suggested task. Am I correct in thinking that this 'unpacking the standard' activity is different than other subject areas? Does anyone have advice on how to unpack a PE? Thank you

Peter Ower Peter Ower 140 Points

Hi Kelly,

In addition to being a science teacher, I'm an assessment designer. When designing assessments for NGSS alignment we unpack the PEs. In short we look at what it would take for a student to meet the PE: what ideas do they need to understand, what vocab may come up, what proficiency would look like, and how the 3-dimensions play into the PE. Essentialy, almost everything you just stated!

A big help for this is using the evidence statements included with the standards. For example, if you visit the NGSS site and look at any standard, you'll see the evidence statement on the right side of the page: https://www.nextgenscience.org/pe/ms-ps1-1-matter-and-its-interactions. When you click on this, it will take you to a detailed break down of the standard and what is needed for a student to demonstrate they meet the PE.