Forums

Forums / Next Generation Science Standards / Teaching plants and their functions

Next Generation Science Standards

Teaching plants and their functions

Author Post
Emilee Bellow Emilee Bellow 565 Points

Hi all! I am currently a student teacher and lesson planning over plants and their functions. Does anyone have any fun and engaging activites besides planting seeds and observing them? Student will be observing plants but would also love to have other activites that they can elaborate on. Thanks in advance! 

A J A 200 Points

One of my favorite activities when I was in school was 

Kasey Mannion Kasey Mannion 1020 Points

Hi Emilee, 

Planting seeds and observing the plants grow is always a great activity to implement in the clasroom. You might consider developing a full class garden that contains lots of plants and maybe even grow some vegetables.

Another activity that will allow students to engage with plants is a leaf collecting project. I love leaf collecting because it gives students an opportunity to get outside and enjoy nature- something that is so very important in science education. Once students have collected their leaves, an activity in the classroom could be to sort all the leaves into identifying categories. There are endless activities to do with leaf collections, so get creative and have fun!

-Kasey  

Priscilla Braham Priscilla Braham 60 Points

Hello Kasey, as a young student I remeber growing a plant in school. It was one of the most fun activities I did growing up. This really allows for students to understand the entire process of how plants grow and what they need in order to function. Today I work with students who really enjoy gardening club so growing vegestables is a really good idea. Students really seem to love hands on activities.

Samantha Ramirez Samantha Ramirez 200 Points