Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Activities in the Science classroom

Elementary Science

Activities in the Science classroom

Author Post
Isabella Villarreal Isabella Villarreal 300 Points

I am an intern at an Elementary School right now and i have observed that there is very little time for science to be taught. Activities are usually rushed and messy. How could I make sure that the students are engaged in my lesson? Any tips on how i could prepare a proper activity for the time given in the classroom?

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

Just like Wendi said, use literature as the engagement part of your science lesson. I use Picture Perfect Science books from NSTA for lessons throughout the year. It may be that I do a science demonstration on day 1 and ask probing questions about the results of the demo. Depending on the grade level, the students or I would write the questions about what was observed on the board or in their journals. Day 2 the students would read the book, for example; What Did They See? and I See Myself, are both books geared towards K-2. The lesson objectives can be found on p 147 of More Picture Perfect Science Lessons. The science and engineering practices, disciplinary core ideas, and crosscutting concepts are all listed. The lessons are really engaging and students can accomplish a lot in a short amount of time. Day 3 would be using a mirror to complete the tasks listed. Day 4 would be 10 minutes of journaling. Day 5 would be another experience with reflections and light. You can choose to informally evaluate the lesson or have a rubric for students to refer to that aligns with the investigations.

Wendi Laurence Wendi Laurence 1510 Points