Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / At Home Learning and Science Education

Elementary Science

At Home Learning and Science Education

Author Post
Cristina Gamez Cristina Gamez 580 Points

Science involves experimentation which challenges elementary school teachers to deliver their lessons fully online. Elementary students are beginning to reveal an interest towards science, so how exactly should a teacher deliver their lessons to keep students enganged and interested? At home learning has become the norm now and providing students with science materials and kits to take home would be so helpful. The teacher could even conduct an experiment for them through google classroom, zoom or any other platform they normally use.Theres a handful of online learning resources that they could use to test their understanding, but how effective is this for lower grade levels? 

Jonathan Abelson Jonathan Abelson 375 Points

Cristina,    As an elementary science teacher I 100% agree. In fact, this became very clear to me early on, back in March of 2020. I did exactly what you suggested and put together small science kits to do science activities from home with my 1st and 2nd grade students. A great deal of things come upwith this type of project, that in reflecting on what I did was absolutley insane to do in the first place. That said, the engagement from most students was pallatable and real. As with all things science, there was a lot to learn and reflect on. I should note that I teach at a small private school. So, small student numbers, flexibility with standards and a department budget that I oversee all helped. 

Safety and contents: Giving materials to 1st and 2nd graders means to be very aware of what they get, how they organize them and who has access to them.  Literature had to be included, I felt, to make sure liability and saftey were covered for myself and the school.