Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / 1st grade science

Elementary Science

1st grade science

Author Post
Ariana Justice Ariana Justice 1850 Points

Hi! I'm currently a student teacher in a first-grade class and I was just wondering how do you keep students engaged in learning about simple things like living vs nonliving things at such a young age? Are there any experiment recommendations or demonstrations I could try?

Alexandra Mens Alexandra Mens 1675 Points

Hi Ariana!

It can be difficult keeping first graders engaged because of how short their attention spans are! I am a huge supporter of small group rotations. It gets kids up and moving out of their seats and there are new things for them to do every 10-15 minutes, so it keeps them engaged. I would create 4-5 different small group rotations for your kids to complete! At each station would be a different activity relating to living vs nonliving things. You could have pictures of living and nonliving things and have kids identify which pictures show something that is living and which ones don't, then have them explain what it is they are seeing that makes them think the thing in that picture is living or nonliving. Hope this helps give you some ideas! 

Sara Harris Sara Harris 2448 Points

Hello Ariana,

Below is the link to a video that might help students stay engaged when learning about living and nonliving things. It can become an interactive video where you pause it and ask students the respond to the questions on the screen. Then to continue on with your living and nonliving things, you could have students cut out a variety of pictures (21st C. Skills) and sort them into living and nonliving categories. Finally, to assess their learning, you could have them complete a Venn diagram that involved stating the difference between living and nonliving things, including objects that are in each category; this could be a formative assessment that helps you recognize what your students know.