Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Concerns as a new teacher!

New Teachers

Concerns as a new teacher!

Author Post
Alma Pedraza Alma Pedraza 100 Points

Hi, I am still in school and about to become an elementary school teacher. I know from my experience and from what i hear from my nieces and nephews science is not a subject that is taught with such importance. I am not sure if this is everywhere but i have heard it frequently. I also think that it may be taught just not explained to the students well that what they are doing is science. I do not think many students know that science is everywhere and everything. As a future teacher i just want to make sure i remind myself to incorporate science in the classroom. I want students to have fun with it as well. I want them to know what they are learning is SCIENCE. thank you!

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

I'm so glad you made this comment Alma! I don't know for sure about other places, but where I work, elementary teachers receive no professional development in science once they begin teaching! It's terrible. Science is all around us and we need to know how scientific principals affect us in our every day lives. I've been very lucky the last three years to be involved in a grant where I have received a lot of professional development in science so that I can go out and share that with science teachers in our parish. One of the very best places to spend time and work on your own science development is right here on the NSTA Learning Center. Also take a look at http://ngss.nsta.org/ click on Classroom Resources that will show you the alignment to the NGSS and resources with lessons, materials, rubrics, etc.

Jillian Haberichter Jillian Haberichter 3038 Points