Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Help, chemistry labs

New Teachers

Help, chemistry labs

Author Post
Cassandra Williams Cassandra Williams 440 Points

Hello to all, I am a new teacher, teaching middle school science and I do not have a lab room, just a typical classroom. My class does not have water or storage (no science class do). Can someone give me some suggestions on how I can do labs without these things and be in compliance with regulations? Example of lesson chemical reactions, etc

Ruth Hutson Ruth Hutson 64325 Points

Hi Cassandra,

You can still do labs, but have to be very careful the types of labs you choose. I would also recommend you do your labs in microscale and make sure that they are green. Describe your room layout....do you have tables or only student desks? How many students do you normally have during a period? Do you have access to water near your room? How close is the bathroom to your classroom?

You also might check out the following threadsChemistry Games, Animations, and Simulations and Low Cost Labs. These threads mention several ideas for middle school labs.

Cassandra Williams Cassandra Williams 440 Points

The room has tables, between 26-30 students per period, and the restroom is close by (a few feet away). What do you mean by green?