Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Teacher in Training

New Teachers

Teacher in Training

Author Post
Shelby Owens Shelby Owens 200 Points

Hello everyone,

I am currently a college student in a teacher preperation program for grades k-6. My professor for my teaching science course has highly recomended science notebooks for my future students. I was wondering if there were any other recomendations to keep students involved and interested in their learning?

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Hi Shelby!  I'd agree with your professor about science notebooks. Also, as a principal of mine once said, 'learning is not a spectator sport.' So involve the students as much as possible in their learning. For example, display student work in the classroom, let the students create the word wall entries, encourage them to explore on their own, and allow them to make mistakes (with guidance on how to follow up on them). Remind them of the learning objectives related to each activity so that they don't think of hands-on activities as a special event or recreational opportunity! Rather than ask 'are there any questions?' instead say 'what questions do you have about (topic)?' Or better yet, 'ask me three questions.' Students love to create games and song lyrics, too. -- Mary B

Apartment Patino MARIO PATINO 1295 Points

Having students keep science notebooks is on way of engaging students here are some others:

1. give students choices on what assignments to do.
  2. give students choices on how they are assessed
  3. have students create photojournals and have them answer a question or write a brief observation of what they observed.
  4. make models
  5. use portfolios to document learning experiences
  6. integrate art to learn science
  7. teach students to question
  8. teach students to learn [e.g executive functioning skills]
  9. have students reflect often [e.g orally or written]