Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Kindergarten Lesson

Early Childhood

Kindergarten Lesson

Author Post
Taylor Reynolds Taylor Reynolds 200 Points

Hello! I am currently a preservice teacher with a strong interest in the kindergarten through second grade age range. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on some interesting/interactive kindergarten lesson ideas? I want to make science exciting and hands on, but am struggling with how to make it kindergarten appropriate. I like the idea of studying animals or perhaps plants. Thanks!

Hi Taylor. I am a transitional kindergarten teacher and my students love science time because it allows them the opportunity to explore with their hands. I’m not sure what your focus would be with plants, but I once had children go on a scavenger hunt for the parts of a plant. I created a sort with different parts of a plant. Their job was to find all the pieces and put them together to complete the plant. My students had a great time find the pieces and figuring out where those pieces fit. I hope this helps!

Meghan Burke Meghan Burke 55 Points

A great introductory science lesson is going on a nature walk. If you aren't able to take the children outside (or even if you are) another great lesson is growing sprouts. Alfalfa sprouts are super easy to grow and taste sweet; most children like them! This could be incorporated along with reading a book about how plants grow from seeds. You could ask children what their favorite foods are and draw a quick picture using crayons on white paper to demonstrate what that food looks like during different stages of it's life cycle, for example, an apple seed, a sprout, a tree and eventually it fruits. 

Good luck!

Meghan

Yolanda Rodriguez Yolanda Rodriguez 330 Points

Hello,