Forums

Forums / New Teachers / New Teacher

New Teachers

New Teacher

Author Post
Samantha Castrejon Samantha Castrejon 625 Points

As a first-year teacher, what are the biggest obstacles faced in the classroom? Would it be curriculum-based, instruction-based, or classroom management? What were some approaches taken to solve them? 

Madelyn Nash Madelyn Nash 2450 Points

Honestly, though I am still a student teacher, this is all a struggle. All of them are hard for different reasons. I always hear that new teachers struggle with classroom management the most and I think I would agree with them. Typically wherever you work will give you a majority of the curriculum that you need to teach and you adjust it to fit your student's needs. This just comes with testing and documenting and collecting data. The same goes for instruction. You need to get to know your students to help with instruction and get to know their challenges and strengths of students. I think that the hardest is behavior management because children can be unpredictable. There are so many tips and tricks that you can find online that can help with strategies to bring the class back to attention or to help provide structure. It is worth paying special attention to classroom management. 

Don't let the challenges turn you off, make sure you use your team and your resources and don't be afraid to reach out. 

-Madelyn Nash

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Hi Samantha,