Forums

Forums / New Teachers / 1st Grade Science

New Teachers

1st Grade Science

Author Post
Sarah Mildaus Sarah Mildaus 705 Points

Hi everyone! I am a student at Purdue University Calumet. I will be student teaching this fall, and have been placed in a first grade classroom. I have been creating science lessons this semester for a second grade class, and I never realized how much fun science can be when given enough time to teach it! My students love the lessons I have created, but they are at least an hour long, and most teachers don't have that much time to teach science. What are some fun and engaging lessons that you have taught first graders that won't take up too much time? Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks in advance! 

Joseline Echegoyen Joseline Echegoyen 1205 Points

I'm creating my first lesson plan for science. The lesson I created is about 30 to 45 minutes. Time management is something that we have to work with a lot. One of the things that I will encourage you to do is to try to focus just on one specific topic. For instance, the TEKS that I choose were TEKS: 1.5B Predict and identify changes in materials caused by heating and cooling such as ice melting, water freezing, and water evaporating. TEKS: 1.6.An Identify and discuss how different forms of energy such as light, heat, and sound are important to everyday life. In this case, I deconstructed my TEKS by talking only about heat energy and the differences of heating and cooling. The students will be expected to determine how an ice cube melts and how we could make a melted cube cool. I tried not to go beyond this point because my cite coordinator will be explaining to them more information throughout the week.

Cara Campbell Cara Campbell 515 Points