Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Integrating Technology in the classroom.

Elementary Science

Integrating Technology in the classroom.

Author Post

Hello everyone, I'm currently a student at Dominican Universiry majoring in Elementary Education. I was wondering if anyone had any advice or activities as to how I can effectivly integrate technology into my science lessons. I would really love to hear about anything you have done! Thank you!

Brittany Lingenfelter Brittany Lingenfelter 1293 Points

Hello! 

National Geographic Kids has many educational opportunities for kids to explore different science phenomenas, and the opportunity to explore the past, present, and future! This platform provides free resources such as lesson plans, activities, worksheets, vocabulary, fun facts, etc, that align with state standards for science. For kids exploration, this website offers for students to explore science, history, space, animals, U.S. states, Weird But True, and more. This enhances students' understanding of the world and how everything in the world interconnects. Students will enrich themselves in the enterprise aspect of the Nature of science by understanding why things occur and then exploring solutions through activities through hands-on learning led by the teacher. These practices can be done once every week or every other week depending on how the teacher would like to set up this practice in their classroom!

-Brittany Lingenfelter

Preservice teacher

Wartburg College '24

Elizabeth McDonald Elizabeth McDonald 80 Points

The main thing I keep in mind when involving technology in my lessons is that the tech is in service of the science learning goals I have for my students. I don't use technology for its own sake - it's a tool, and a fast-changing one, so it's not worth spending time to teach kids to use specific apps or programs unless they will immediately help them understand science concepts better.