Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Three types of Rocks--Igneous, Metamorphic, Sedimentary and Minerals

Earth and Space Science

Three types of Rocks--Igneous, Metamorphic, Sedimentary and Minerals

Author Post
Bridgette Fagala Bridgette Fagala 255 Points

Does anyone have any fun ideas on how to teach the three types of rocks and minerals to 4th graders?

Jennifer Bacon Jennifer Bacon 410 Points

Hey,
I am a pre-service teacher and for one of my lesson plans I did it on minerals. A very cool opening activity for minerals is to use the mineral magnetite. For my opening activity, I purchased a mineral kit off amazon. It was only about 10 dollars. In that kit, one of the minerals in it is magnetite. First, I let the children be able to observe the minerals and write down the difference they see as far as color, shape, size, and texture. After, to spike their interest, I started off by saying that one of the rocks are very special and different from the others. I wrote the name on the board and had the students use the root word inside of it to try to figure out why it's different from the others. Hopefully, they guessed it correct and I go on to explain that there was one rock in there that is attracted to a magnet and had them guess which one and explain why they think it was it. After, we experimented with each rock each group thought was the one until we found the match. I never had the pleasure to implement this with students since it was for a class and my classmates were my students, but I believe that it would be an awesome idea to get their curiosity going and them excited about the topic. Its many different ways to implement this and change the type of activity to students needs and abilities.
I hope this helps!
-Jen

*Here is the link to amazon where I purchased the kit I used*
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000BQ5BG6/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Marissa Gnau Marissa Gnau 350 Points

Hello!