Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Strategies for a Preservice Teacher

Elementary Science

Strategies for a Preservice Teacher

Author Post
Cosette DiVenere Cosette DiVenere 450 Points

Hello! I am currently receiving my bachelor's in elementary education. Do you have any strategies that helped/worked for you when teaching elementary school science? Thank you for taking the time to respond :)

Alexandra Muldowney Alexandra Muldowney 534 Points

Hi! I'm Alexandra Muldowney and I'm a student at SIU (I'm Carolyn Mohr's student as well). I'm currently in my senior year in college in majoring elementary education. Some strategies that have worked for my placement are: 

1. Explore different ways to make your launch interesting for students. This would help grab their attention, engagement, and curiousity. This will also make learning fun for students. You can incorporate a 'fact' prior and/or after starting your lesson to gauge students engagement and understanding level. A 'fact' is a technique that I recently learned through Carolyn Mohr. I will attach my presentation slide to help and your classmates as a potential strategy with explanations on how to use it in any subject/topic in education. 

2. Allow students to make connections to the real-world and the content that you're teaching. This is essential for studnets to have a meaingful and purposeful learning. Intergrate other subject areas for an aha moment (this is the best part when you see this in students, in my opinion!). 

3. See what students know in a subject/topic. This will help eliminate any possible miconceptions and/or learn what prior knowledge they have. Having student teach their peers about something will help with their learning environment by making it comofortable and welcoming, especially for your quiet students and/or your ELL learners. 

Hope this was helpful, good luck to you!

Skyler Davis Skyler 150 Points