Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Atomic Model

Chemistry

Atomic Model

Author Post
Angelina Cruz Angelina Cruz 820 Points

I am a 6th Grade Science teacher and I have been teaching Kid Physics to this grade level for at least 5 years now. One of the 6th grade standards is to describe atom using atomic model. I am wondering whether to teach my students the Bohr model or the most current one which is electron cloud model. I feel confident teaching Bohr's model because the electrons are arranged specifically on the shells but I believe that electron cloud model is more current. Thanks for your help. =))

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Hi Angelina,
You pose an excellent question. We want the models we use to help inform instruction and not creat new misconceptions. Personally, I teach the history of atomic models and include Dalton, Thomson, Rutherford, Bohr, etc. There is a lesson plan that you may be excited about in this article: Reactions to Atomic Structure
The teacher has her middle school students creating their own models of elements. The article includes the student information/instruction sheet and a grading rubric. How models can add to students' confusion is another interesting tidbit of information that is shared.
Best of luck in planning an engaging unit for your students!
Carolyn

Ruth Hutson Ruth Hutson 64325 Points

Hi Angelina, While you may not want to go into a great deal of detailed about the electron cloud model, you should at least mention that it is the current accepted model. Your high school chemistry teacher can pick it up from there.

Vanessa Cannon Vanessa Cannon 1660 Points