Forums

Forums / Life Science / Cellular Respiration and Photosynthesis

Life Science

Cellular Respiration and Photosynthesis

Author Post

Does anyone have any suggestions for how to teach these two things to high schoolers? I am a little at a loss, especially knowing to what depth I will have to cover them because they are very difficult concepts. I am a biology teacher at Shawnee High School for juniors, which is a PLA school. Do any of you all have lessons that are more activity based? My students are 98% free/reduced lunch, 40% ECE, with more apathy than normal for anything that is mainly note/memorization based. I need to get this through to them, so someone please help!!

James Johnson James Johnson 95308 Points

Hi Diane. One of the things I do is talk about the difference between plant cells and animal cells. Then, talk about how plants get their energy from the sun and convert CO2 to oxygen. I then talk about how animals get glucose from food such as plants or other animals to support cellular respiration. A neat topic is having them figure out how trees get all that heavy mass from the CO2 they absorb during photosynthesis. Most of them think they suck it out of the ground. Once you get them looking at trees out the window while they're looking out the window, anyway, they are engaged. I teach at an Alternative Education school and if they can associate the lesson with something they can touch, they become engaged. Hope this helps a little...

Patricia Rourke Patricia Rourke 45925 Points