Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Favorite Ways to Assess?

Evaluation and Assessment

Favorite Ways to Assess?

Author Post
Sierra Wayson Sierra Wayson 7745 Points

Hi all!

I am a preservice teacher currently in grad-school, and I'm curious about the best strategies you have found for assessing students in non-traditional ways.  How do you keep assessment engaging for the students and informative for you?  Are the assessments you assign for science different than ones for other subjects?  

Thank you!

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

I use a mixture of assessments in my college level courses. I use rubrics for written assignments. I use closed-question summative assessments, but program them into the LMS so that they get two chances (with questions pulled from pools) and feedback is provided automatically after each chance. I also require a self-reflection activity, which often proves challenging (at first) for students who have not been taught how to self-assess. 

Kelsey Schulz Kelsey Schulz 995 Points

Hi Sierra!

I just gave students the following formative assessment to my studnets, and it went over really well! My fourth grade students really enjoyed it, so I will defitely be using it again. However, I think it would be appropriate for the middle grades as well due to their connections with technology. The idea behind this assessment was to get studnets thinking about potential test questions and find out what concepts still need to be addressed for tomorrow’s review lesson. The directions read: 'You were asking Siri science questions on your phone last night to study for your life science unit test in two days. Write 3 questions and answers you asked Siri about that you think will be on the test. Then finish the text you sent your mom on the bottom. ??'