Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Split 7/8 science help needed

General Science and Teaching

Split 7/8 science help needed

Author Post
Lynn Mertz Lynn Mertz 50 Points

So first, some background on me and my school.  I am in my 3rd year teaching and I have 7 and 8 together.  I work at an alternative school and our population is very transient.  Students come and go constantly and come to us with huge deficiencies.  It is not uncommon for students to say they never passed a single class until they came to us.  Our population is 95% free and reduced lunch with 100% qualifying for Title 1 services. We have a no homework policy and a reduced school year (150 days instead of 180). I use the NGSS.   When I first started at my school my director wanted me to try teaching half the 7/8 standards one year and half the next, so after two years they get all of them.  This hasn't worked because if a kid is only with us in 7 or 8 and not both years they could very well miss a huge chunk of standards.  The more I think about it, the more I believe I need to treat my room as a true 7/8 split and teach 2 curriculums.  I need help.   I love the SEEDstorylines out of Utah www.seedstorylines.org and would like to follow their method and lessons, but I am not sure how to do this.  The problem is that the lessons all require the teacher to serve as a facilitator to inquiry, and with my students being pretty high needs due to deficiencies across the board, independent work is near impossible at the start of the year unless it is very basic, rudimentary work that doesn't require critical thinking skills.  We work on building that throughout the year.   I considered a type of flipped format where the flip all happens in school - independant one day, teacher directed the next and the grades would have opposite types of days.  I just don't know how to do this.  I should mention I also teach HS physical science, biology, and earth science.  This means I have a min of 4 preps a