Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Bringing outdoor, indoor

General Science and Teaching

Bringing outdoor, indoor

Author Post
Kate Keith Kate Keith 180 Points

Hi, I am a preservice teacher.  How do you achieve the full concept of bringing outdoor, indoor? How do you make sure your students are getting out of it what they need to? For example, going outside to pick up leaves and bringing them back inside to do experiments to see why leaves change colors.  How do you transition smoothly where yo do not lose any students attention? 

Kathy Renfrew Kathy Renfrew 37148 Points

Kate,

Your wondering how s right on target. Your questions are very real to an in-service teacher. Whether you are in or out with students the planning for the learning experience must be done. I’m wondering what grade level you are thinking about as you ask your questions. My response might be different depending on the answer. I also think about the standard I am addressing to determine what is the best learning opportunity I can provide for the students. 

Kathy

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

Hello Kate,

I love teaching outdoors!  Part of the problem you face is the novelty of taking your students outside your classroom and wasting time walking out and back in.  As Jacqueline has stated - you plan, plan, plan!  But remember, planning does not mean that you dictate every moment the students have outside.  Build the activity as an inquiry and allow students some flexibility in asking questions, gathering data and exploring. Don't make going outside a lecture under the trees.