Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Elementary Science in the classroom

Elementary Science

Elementary Science in the classroom

Author Post
Jacquelyn White Jacquelyn White 988 Points

How would a teacher be able to engage Elementary students on topics that may not be as interesting to them?

Laura Snell Laura Snell 2073 Points

Hi Jacquelyn, I am an undergraduate student taking a Methods of Science class.  My instructor was telling us the key way to get all students ingaged is to make it fun!  Try to incorporate any hands on experienments or activties that you can to tie to the lesson and it will also help them remember what was taught!  It might take a little more planning time than the average lesson, but it will be so much more benificial to the students' learning outcomes.  I hope you are able to find a solution to your question! 

Ingrid Wood Ingrid Wood 2603 Points

Hi Jacquelyn!

I think students will be more engaged in topics if they can see it as a part of their daily life. When you relate a topic to students daily lives it is more likely for them to be invested in what your explaining.

Emily Merritt Emily Merritt 2003 Points

Hello Jacquelyn! I have this same question. I think that doing a hands-on activity would be very helpful. I also think that it helps if you show interest in that topic. Students don't want to sit and listen to a lecture all day long, they want to be entertained!

Jen Gutierrez Jennifer Gutierrez 1920 Points

Hi Jacquelyn!