Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Classroom Pets

Elementary Science

Classroom Pets

Author Post
Hayley Krogh Hayley Krogh 60 Points

Hello!

My name is Hayley Krogh, and I am a pre-service teacher from Wartburg College in Iowa. I recently listened to a presentation about pets in the classroom, and I have been thinking about getting a pet for my classroom when I graduate. Does anyone have any suggestions of what type of animal(s) would be beneficial and useful in a K-4th grade classroom?

Thank you,

Hayley Krogh

Pre-Service Teacher

Wartburg College

Ashley Hopper Ashley Hopper 640 Points

Hi Hayley,

I think the most beneficial pets for a classroom would be pets that the students can take turns feeding and having responsibilities. I would recommend fish, rabbits and guinea pigs because those pets allows the students to have responsibilties to take care of them. 

Ciera Perez Ciera Perez 425 Points

Hello Hayley,

My name is Ciera Perez and I am a pre-service teacher as well. I think a classroom pet is a fun idea. I remember in first grade my teacher had a frog as a class pet and we got to take turns feeding/playing with him in small groups when we had indoor recess. My suggestions would be fish, guinea pigs, lizards/bearded dragons, rabbits, and frogs. They can be used as learning tools and fun engagement opportunities. 

Gina Mazzeffe Gina Mazzeffe 160 Points

Hello Hayley,

I think the idea of a classroom pet is very beneficial to young children. It can definitely help students with responsibility and forming a set routine. For K-4th grade I think the best pet would be something that is low mantaince, yet allows the students to interact. This can be a fish, a hamster, guinea pig, or bearded dragon. Hope this helps!

Derrick Lietz Derrick Lietz 438 Points

Hi Hayley,