Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Walking Past the Planets

Earth and Space Science

Walking Past the Planets

Author Post
Whitney McKnew Whitney McKnew 600 Points

Attached is a great article about creating an exact scientific model of the planets in size and distance. The project would require over a kilometer of space and would take up a good amount of time about two weeks of lessons if done right. I am a student at UMBC and so I haven’t had a lot of real classroom experience. My question for classroom teachers is if this seems plausible for an elementary level classroom and how much preparation would have to go into something this big? Would a principal have to approve the lesson? The article is super interesting for those who are interesting in providing their students with models for the solar system in a big way!

Attachments

Take a Planet Walk (Journal Article)

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

You are certainly correct that the planet walk would be quite a project for elementary students. As the article states, it is geared to upper elementary. I would estimate at least sixth grade, maybe fifth grade. If would definitely be something that would need to be approved by a principal since it would involve taking students offsite. Another thing to consider is how much time it would take to accomplish this task. As a classroom teacher with many things to cover in a year, do you have the time to devote to this project? If you would like to do something similar on a smaller scale, take a look at the attached article where you create a scale model of the solar system in the hallway. You could still accomplish the objective of students learning about solar system distances which is a hard concept even for adults to understand.

Attachments

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points

Hi Whitney and Betty,