Forums

Forums / Pre-service Teachers / Time Management

Pre-service Teachers

Time Management

Author Post
Audrey Guyer Audrey Guyer 710 Points

Hello all, I am close to graduating from Wartburg College with K-12 Special Education and General Elementary Education teaching certifications. Throughout my college career, I have been working on breaking bad habits such as procrastinating and perfectionism. However, I still find myself struggling with the concept of time management. Strategies such as making a to-do list and crossing tasks off as I complete them see to be helping, but it is fully helping me manage my time. As my entrance into the teaching world quickly approaches, I would like to learn how to effectively manage my time in a way that works best for me. Please let me know of any other tips and tricks that I could try to manage my time as a future educator.

Olivia Jeffcoat Olivia Jeffcoat 115 Points

Hey Audrey! I am also a pre-service teacher working towards a certification in K-6. Time management has never been one of my strong suits. I am always looking for different ways to help me on that. I also have a problem with procrastination (an assignment I am working on now is due tonight haha!). One tip I could give you is to always have a written out plan. Having a step-by-step plan has always helped me with my time management. This strategy has specifically helped me during my field placement experience. Having a plan really keeps me on task and on time. I have researched some other strategies and I will link them below. I will look forward to trying these strategies and maybe these will help you as weel! Good luck!

https://www.edutopia.org/article/time-management-tips-teachers/

Joe Wilson Joe 340 Points